Ode to the honey kix

April 8, 2009 erinmcgrathwo

I have now completed one cycle of chemo! Yesterday’s treatment finished my first month of the bad-guy killing drug. It was an extremely long day. They were running behind at the clinic and then when I met with my doctor, we made a new plan of medicines because I got so sick the first time. She prescribed a heavier, long-lasting anti-nausea med that would be given through the IV along with the chemos. But then when I got to the infusion room (where I go to get chemo) it was sooo busy in there they had not yet received my new med plan. Needless to say it was a really really long day.

My mom’s here this week helping out. Its been great to have her here in Vermont and getting to see how I live the law school life. She’s also doing some cooking for me, which I cannnot complain about. And, she discovered and brought with her my new secret weapon— HONEY KIX CEREAl. I am telling you, this stuff is amazingly good and all I want to do is nibble on honey kix, which is great b/c my appetite is so small. I love these. LOVE LOVE LOVE.

That aside, I think the new meds seem to be working. Last night I felt awful and did not want to eat, I went to bed pretty early 8:30! But I think the sleeping helped not focusing on the nausea and I seem to be holding today, no intense vomit feelings.  Just poop-tinis (these are what Sam and I called the stool-softener drinks I mix) and honey kix!!

I am feeling really tired today though, I slept for almost ten hours and am still tired. It’s a little frustrating but I am trying to let my body feel what it needs and cater to it.

overall, I am feeling happy to have one full cycle under my belt, oo and apparently my blood work for this week came back wonderful, even my cells counts were holding, so that’s really good too. WOOT. 🙂 Thanks for supporting and reading.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue  |  April 9, 2009 at 12:59 am

    Erin, darling. Margo just let me know. It is so totally and completely not fair that you have to deal with this HL thing. Oh, my heart aches for you. But I hear you there in your posts, with all your sweetness and cheer. And I’m so happy you have your boy. Come home for the summer and we will all love you and take care of you and have fun with you.

    So much love, my dear, Sue

  • 2. Danielle  |  April 9, 2009 at 2:04 am

    ….

    poop-tinis?

    :o)

    i love you.

  • 3. Danielle  |  April 9, 2009 at 2:05 am

    opps, that was suppose to be a friggen smiley face.

  • 4. Danielle  |  April 9, 2009 at 2:09 am

    that was oops, not opps. ok maybe i just need to stop leaving messages.

  • 5. Jessica  |  April 14, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    I work with Honey Kix and would love to send you some coupons. Just shoot me an email at Jtorchia at coynepr dot com and I can send them out to you.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
