It’s been one week

March 31, 2009 erinmcgrathwo

I have survived my first week on the chemo. I am starting to feel more “normal” eating real meals and everything, nut of course, 7 more days I get to go in again for the next treatment.

My big fanfare this week has been the elusive bowel movement. I mean really… chemo makes you have to get comfortable with your body and talking about it to complete strangers with intimate details. Just one of the many glorious side effects to putting the chemo into my body to kill the cancer, there are of course innocent bystanders that have to go as well, like my immune system, and appetite.  These things I try to take in stride, and one by one as they come up.  It’s too overwhelming to look at the big picture right now, so I tally the days, and mark my treatments on my calendar so I remember, but other than those signifiers I try to enjoy the day.  Like the fact that it’s about 50 degrees finally and tomorrow is April, and maybe spring is coming after all. Or the fact that I made it through all my classes and did not feel completely exhausted.  One week closer to cured. One week closer to new energy and healthy cells.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. Brook  |  April 4, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    you are so brave. i don’t mean to romanticize what you are going through in any way but honestly, reading your blog is very inspiring. it can be so easy to forget all the beauty and joy in life. thank you for reminding this tired, crunchy, getting-older mama.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts

 
